Pocket Deal Radar
Search
Game Boy Color

Pokémon Crystal Clear

An open-world version of Crystal: choose your starter from more than 20 options, begin in Johto or Kanto, and take on all 16 Gyms in any order as they scale with your progress.

Complete Catalog source check 27 Sep 2026
PlatformsGame Boy Color
DeveloperShockSlayer
Version2.6.0
DistributionROM patch
Patch formatNot stated by the creator
Base revisionNot stated by the creator
Save goes to the next versionYes

The developer says save data can always be transferred to the next update.

  • Follow the instructions in the releases channel of the developer's Discord to update correctly.

Developer source · Save guidance checked 27 Sep 2026

Quick answers

Straight answers

What is the latest version of Pokémon Crystal Clear?
Latest version: 2.6.0.
How do I update Pokémon Crystal Clear?
Re-patch a clean, unmodified base ROM you already own, following the developer's instructions. Save carries over: Yes. Read the save requirements · Developer source
Is Pokémon Crystal Clear finished?
Status: complete. Campaign: Start in any city in Johto or Kanto, with your own home there. Story barriers have been removed. All sixteen gyms can be tackled in any order and scale with your badges, from roughly level 7 to roughly level 75. Wild Pokémon do not scale, so you choose the order of areas. Each area has its own difficulty rating. The developer specifies no base game, revision or patch format on a public page. Downloads are available only through the developer's Discord.
Which starter Pokémon can you choose?
Choose from thirty starters, or add your own. They have custom moves and held items, and some know HM moves.
Where is the official documentation?
Developer FAQ · Developer documentation
Save this gameSaved only on this device · last checked 27 Sep 2026
At a glance

Recorded gameplay details

Pokémon available

All 251 Pokémon can be caught, including all 26 Unown forms. All 251 are also available as shinies, except Unown: only forms I and V can be shiny.

Campaign

Start in any city in Johto or Kanto, with your own home there. Story barriers have been removed. All sixteen gyms can be tackled in any order and scale with your badges, from roughly level 7 to roughly level 75. Wild Pokémon do not scale, so you choose the order of areas. Each area has its own difficulty rating.

Difficulty

Gyms scale with your badges and each area has a difficulty rating. There is a full Nuzlocke mode with configurable rules, started by holding SELECT at NEW GAME.

Known limits

  • A GBA flashcart does not run this game properly without Goomba mode.
  • A GBC flashcart must support save data and a clock; the developer recommends MBC3 with a clock.
  • Weaker emulators such as VBA produce graphical glitches.
  • Version 2.6.0 still has unresolved SGB border issues in some emulators.
Quality of life

Recorded convenience features

  • Any Pokémon in your party can follow you; choose it with SELECT in the party menu.
  • The status screen shows STAT EXP and base stats.
  • HM moves work outside battle without badges.
  • The TM shop has been redesigned: buy any TM you have previously owned, without a badge requirement.
  • Increased shiny odds: 1 in 4096 in the Safari Zone and 1 in 1024 for gift Pokémon.
  • No physical/special split. The developer explicitly states this.

Safe patch boundary

  1. Open only the developer-owned source or release page linked below.
  2. Back up the in-game save before changing a patched build.

We never host ROM files, BIOS files, prepatched games, mirrors or unofficial download bundles.

Open the official patch source Open the complete safe patching guide Compare all three installation models Handheld and emulator setup for Game Boy Color Pokémon games

Recorded sources

ShockSlayer

Use these sources for releases, changelogs, compatibility notes and corrections.

Written with AI help from recorded source notes. Catalog source checks, release reviews and save guidance have separate dates. No hands-on play or device results are recorded here.

How we check