Pocket Deal Radar
Search
Game Boy Color

Pokémon Crystal Kaizo

The official sequel to Blue Kaizo: every one of the 251 movepools reworked, revives banned in battle, and a difficulty curve the developer describes as steady rather than spiky.

In progress Catalog source check 29 Sep 2026
PlatformsGame Boy Color
DeveloperSinisterHoodedFigure, with a 2025 and 2026 disassembly remaster by CreamElDudJafar with his permission
Version2025 and 2026 update
DistributionROM patch
Base gamePokémon Crystal, version 1.1
Patch formatIPS patch, applied with Lunar IPS
Base revisionversion 1.1
Save goes to the next versionNot stated by the creator
Quick answers

Straight answers

What is the latest version of Pokémon Crystal Kaizo?
Latest version: 2025 and 2026 update.
What is the latest catalog note?
29 Sep 2026 — Profile added. Read the dated note
Is Pokémon Crystal Kaizo finished?
Status: active. Campaign: The Crystal campaign, with post-game wild Pokémon around level 97 to 99.
Which base game does Pokémon Crystal Kaizo need?
Base game: Pokémon Crystal, version 1.1. Patch format: IPS patch, applied with Lunar IPS
Where is the checked creator/source route?
Disassembly remaster repository
Can I use Revives in Crystal Kaizo?
No. The developer disables Revives, Max Revives and Revival Herbs during battles.
Is there a level cap?
No level cap system is stated anywhere by the developer. The difficulty comes from the trainer teams and movepools.
Which patch should I use?
Take it from the developer's own thread or the patch repository he has sanctioned. He warns that outdated versions are circulating.
Save this gameSaved only on this device · last checked 29 Sep 2026

What kind of adventure is it?

Crystal Kaizo is a difficulty rebuild of Pokémon Crystal, presented by its developer as the official sequel to his Blue Kaizo. The story is Crystal's; everything about the teams, movepools and encounters is not.

Pokémon availableThe 251 Pokémon of Generations 1 and 2, with every movepool edited.
At a glance

Recorded gameplay details

Campaign

The Crystal campaign, with post-game wild Pokémon around level 97 to 99.

Difficulty

Hard by design, but the developer describes the curve as steady overall rather than spiky. Revives, Max Revives and Revival Herbs are disabled during battles, and encounter rates are rebalanced in both directions.

Recorded features

  • Every one of the 251 Pokémon has had its movepool edited
  • Revives, Max Revives and Revival Herbs are disabled during battles
  • Encounter rates are rebalanced across the game rather than simply raised
  • The 2025 and 2026 update makes HMs deletable, adds running shoes and a repel reuse prompt
  • Rare Candies cost one dollar at the Indigo Plateau Mart, and Lucky Eggs can be bought
  • The developer describes the curve as steady overall, with post-game wild Pokémon around level 97 to 99

Known limits

  • The optional 84-space bag patch is not save-compatible, so choose before you begin a run
  • The developer warns that outdated versions are circulating and that the patch should come from his own thread
  • No level cap system is stated anywhere, so the difficulty comes from the teams rather than from caps
  • Whether Set mode is enforced is not stated
  • Starters and the region details are not stated on any reachable developer page
Quality of life

Recorded convenience features

  • Deletable HMs in the 2025 and 2026 update
  • Running shoes and a repel reuse prompt
  • Rare Candies for one dollar at the Indigo Plateau Mart, and purchasable Lucky Eggs

Check your installation

  1. Keep an untouched in-game save backup before changing the game or setup.
  2. Apply the IPS patch to a Pokémon Crystal ROM with Lunar IPS.
  3. Take the patch from the developer's own thread; he warns that outdated versions circulate elsewhere.
  4. The optional 84-space bag patch breaks save compatibility.
  5. Pocket Deal Radar links only the developer's thread and the sanctioned patch repository.

Safe patch boundary

  1. Open the checked project source below, then confirm the current patch instructions through a creator-owned route before downloading.
  2. Patch format: IPS patch, applied with Lunar IPS. Read the bundled instructions before patching.
  3. Use your own legally obtained copy of the required base game: Pokémon Crystal, version 1.1.
  4. Back up the in-game save before changing a patched build.

We never host ROM files, BIOS files, prepatched games, mirrors or unofficial download bundles.

Open the checked project source Open the complete safe patching guide Check your base file and patch locally Compare all three installation models Handheld and emulator setup for Game Boy Color Pokémon games
Version history

What changed, and when?

Browse all dated catalog notes
  1. Patch set refreshed

    The sanctioned patch repository was updated, carrying the 2025 and 2026 changes including deletable HMs.

  2. Profile added

    Pocket Deal Radar recorded the Crystal v1.1 base, the Lunar IPS route, the revive ban, the edited movepools and the save-incompatible bag patch.

Recorded sources

SinisterHoodedFigure, with a 2025 and 2026 disassembly remaster by CreamElDudJafar with his permission

The developer's own thread and the sanctioned patch repository establish the project name and its billing as the official sequel to Blue Kaizo, SinisterHoodedFigure as its creator with CreamElDudJafar remastering it with permission, the Crystal v1.1 base, the IPS patch with Lunar IPS, the patch set refreshed on 18 Feb 2026, the edited movepools for all 251 Pokémon, the ban on Revives, Max Revives and Revival Herbs in battle, the rebalanced encounter rates, the steady curve and post-game level range, the deletable HMs, running shoes, repel prompt, cheap Rare Candies and purchasable Lucky Eggs in the update, the save incompatibility of the optional bag patch and his warning about outdated versions in circulation.

Written with AI help from recorded source notes. Catalog source checks, release reviews and save guidance have separate dates. No hands-on play or device results are recorded here.

How we check