Pocket Deal Radar
Search
Game Boy Advance

Pokémon Dark Rising 2

The sequel to Dark Rising: the Omni region, twelve gyms, and a starter choice between three fully evolved dragons.

Beta Catalog source check 28 Sep 2026
PlatformsGame Boy Advance
DeveloperDarkRisingGirl and DarkRisingKid
VersionBeta 2
DistributionROM patch
Base gamePokémon FireRed (English) — the developers name no revision
Patch formatNot stated by the creator
Base revisionNot stated by the creator
Save goes to the next versionNot stated by the creator
Quick answers

Straight answers

What is the latest version of Pokémon Dark Rising 2?
Latest version: Beta 2.
What is the latest catalog note?
28 Sep 2026 — Profile added. Read the dated note
How do I update Pokémon Dark Rising 2?
Confirm the current creator-owned patch instructions, then re-patch a clean, unmodified base ROM you already own. Save compatibility between versions depends on the developer’s instructions; do not assume saves carry over. Checked creator/source route
Is Pokémon Dark Rising 2 finished?
Status: beta. Campaign: Beta 2, with twelve Gym Leaders in the design. Beta 2 is the last build named by the developers. They have since said they can no longer access the old Dark Rising games and no longer support the first game, this one or Order Destroyed.
Which base game does Pokémon Dark Rising 2 need?
Base game: Pokémon FireRed (English) — the developers name no revision
Which starter Pokémon can you choose?
A fully evolved dragon: Dragonite, Salamence or Garchomp. The familiar Grass, Water and Fire starters of the first five generations are instead found in the wild, at a one to two percent encounter rate.
Where is the checked creator/source route?
Series site page for the second game
Which platforms and emulators are confirmed?
The developers host no downloads on their own site. · Pocket Deal Radar links only their own pages, never a pre-patched ROM or a mirror.
Which starter do I get in Dark Rising 2?
A fully evolved dragon: Dragonite, Salamence or Garchomp. The usual starters are found in the wild instead, at a one to two percent encounter rate.
What must I not do?
Do not skip receiving your Pokédex, or most Pokémon will not evolve. Do not return to the deck of the ship, and do not talk to Gary a second time in Noble Town — both freeze the ROM.
Is Dark Rising 2 still supported?
No. The developers have said they can no longer access the older Dark Rising games and no longer support them.
Save this gameSaved only on this device · last checked 28 Sep 2026

What kind of adventure is it?

Picking up from the first game, you chase the rescue of your father, the release of Arceus and the defeat of the dark entity Darugis across the Omni region, in a story built around three Chosen Ones with special abilities.

Pokémon availablePokémon from every generation, first through sixth, with expanded learnsets, new moves and hidden abilities.
At a glance

Recorded gameplay details

Region

Omni, starting from the Core Region

Starters

A fully evolved dragon: Dragonite, Salamence or Garchomp. The familiar Grass, Water and Fire starters of the first five generations are instead found in the wild, at a one to two percent encounter rate.

Campaign

Beta 2, with twelve Gym Leaders in the design.

Recorded features

  • The Omni region, starting from the Core Region of the first game
  • Your starter is a fully evolved dragon — Dragonite, Salamence or Garchomp
  • Every Generation 1 to 5 Grass, Water and Fire starter can be found in the wild, at a one to two percent encounter rate
  • Pokémon from every generation, first through sixth
  • Twelve Gym Leaders, hidden abilities, a day and night system, expanded learnsets, new moves and custom music
  • The physical and special split

Known limits

  • Make sure you receive your Pokédex, or most of your Pokémon will not evolve
  • Do not return to the deck of the ship; the developers say it freezes the ROM
  • Talking to Gary a second time in Noble Town also freezes the ROM
  • Their own list also names glitchy sprites on the boy and girl selection screen, missing Pokémon cries, missing shiny sprites for sixth generation Pokémon, a back sprite without animation frames, an oddly walking heroine sprite and some poorly coloured trainer sprites
  • It is a beta, no patch format or release date is stated, and the developers no longer support it

Before you update or start

  1. The developers host no downloads on their own site.
  2. Pocket Deal Radar links only their own pages, never a pre-patched ROM or a mirror.

Safe patch boundary

  1. Open the checked project source below, then confirm the current patch instructions through a creator-owned route before downloading.
  2. Use your own legally obtained copy of the required base game: Pokémon FireRed (English) — the developers name no revision.
  3. Back up the in-game save before changing a patched build.

We never host ROM files, BIOS files, prepatched games, mirrors or unofficial download bundles.

Open the checked project source Open the complete safe patching guide Compare all three installation models Choose a GBA emulator and check your savesPlaying Pokémon Dark Rising 2 on a handheld? Start with the device guide
Version history

What changed, and when?

Browse all dated catalog notes
  1. Profile added

    Pocket Deal Radar recorded the Omni region, the dragon starter choice, the wild starter encounters, the twelve gyms and the developers' own bug list including the two ROM-freezing warnings.

Recorded sources

DarkRisingGirl and DarkRisingKid

The developers' own thread and series site establish the project name, DarkRisingGirl and DarkRisingKid as its developers, the FireRed base, Beta 2, the Omni region starting from the Core Region, the Dragonite, Salamence and Garchomp starter choice, the wild Generation 1 to 5 starters at one to two percent, the Generation 1 to 6 roster, the twelve Gym Leaders, the hidden abilities, the day and night system, the expanded learnsets and new moves, the custom music, the physical and special split, their statement that the games are not hosted on their site, their later statement that they no longer support the older games, and their own nine-point bug list.

Written with AI help from recorded source notes. Catalog source checks, release reviews and save guidance have separate dates. No hands-on play or device results are recorded here.

How we check